Issue #180  3/14/2011
2011 ICP Infinity Awards Announced

The International Center of Photography has announced the winners of the 2011 Infinity Awards. The award winners will be feted at a gala event on May 10 at New York City's Chelsea Piers.

The winners are Elliott Erwitt (Lifetime Achievement); photojournalist, writer, and humanitarian Ruth Gruber (Cornell Capa Award); the Durst Family (ICP Trustee Award); Magnum photographer Peter van Agtmael, who worked in Iraq and Afghanistan (Young Photographer); Abelardo Morrell (Art); Pakistani photographer Adrees Latif, who covered the floods in Pakistan last year (Photojournalism); and Dutch fashion photographer Viviane Sassen (Applied/Fashion/Advertising Photography).

Gerry Badger won the writing award for his book "The Pleasures of Good Photographs" (Aperture), and Alec Soth won the Publication Award for "From Here to There: Alec Soth's America" (Walker Art Center).

The Selection Committee included Philip Gefter, columnist for "Photograph"; Greg Hobson, curator of photographs at the National Media Museum in Bradford, UK; and Lisa Hostetler, curator of photographs at the Milwaukee Art Museum.