Issue #246  12/17/2018
Several Photography Award Winners Announced
Stephen Perloff presents Anthony Bannon with Photo Review's Lifetime Award.
Stephen Perloff presents Anthony Bannon with Photo Review's Lifetime Award.


The Photo Review gave its 2018 Lifetime Award to George Eastman House former executive director Anthony Bannon in recognition for his contributions to the art of photography. The award was made just prior to the organization's annual benefit photography auction at the end of October.

After serving 16 years as the museum's seventh director, Bannon retired in 2012. Accomplishments during his tenure include launching programs in photo and film preservation, acquiring the Technicolor and Merchant Ivory Productions archives, and establishing an online presence for the museum's images. Bannon was also present for the museum's launch of three internationally renowned graduate and post-graduate schools of film and photograph preservation and conservation.

From 1985 to 1996 he served as director of the Burchfield-Penney Art Center--dedicated to the work and archives of American watercolorist Charles Burchfield--at the State University of New York College at Buffalo. From 1994 to 1996, Bannon was the State University of New York College at Buffalo assistant vice president and director of cultural affairs.

Bannon continues to be heavily involved in photography, writing numerous introduction to books in this area.

Viktoria Sorochinski
Viktoria Sorochinski


The Arnold and Augusta Newman Foundation and the Maine Media Workshop+College have announced the 2018 Arnold Newman Award of $20,000 for New Directions in Photographic Portraiture to Viktoria Sorochinski. Finalists for the award also included Donna Pinckley, Juul Kraijer and Franceso Pergolesi.

Viktoria Sorochinski is a Ukrainian-born Canadian artist. Having lived and studied in Russia, Israel, Canada and USA, where she acquired her Masters of Fine Arts from New York University, she has finally settled in Berlin, Germany.

Sorochinski had nearly 60 exhibitions in 18 countries throughout Europe, North and South America and Asia. Her work is published and reviewed in over 70 international publications including her monograph "Anna & Eve" published in Germany by Peperoni Books in 2013.

Established in 2009, the prize is funded by Newman Foundation.


The International Photography Hall of Fame and Museum has named the 2018 class of the Photography Hall of Fame inductees and Lifetime Achievement Award recipient.

Joel Bernstein, acclaimed photographer whose four decades of work chronicles the inner lives and public moments of some of the most important singer-songwriters, performers and musicians of our time, received the 2018 IPHF Lifetime Achievement Award.

Five photographers or photography industry visionaries, who demonstrate the artistry, passion and revolution of the past and present art and science of photography, were inducted into the Hall of Fame, including:
Willard S. Boyle, physicist, "Master of Light" (Digital Image)
Walter Iooss, sports photographer
John Loengard, magazine photographer/Editor
Susan Meiselas, documentary photographer
John Sexton, landscape photographer.


In its 13th year, the Focus Awards presented by the Griffin Museum of Photography named two individuals instrumental in building greater awareness of the photographic arts in the general public. The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Steven Sasson and to Alexis Gerard.

Steven Sasson is an American electrical engineer and the inventor of the first self-contained (portable) digital camera. Samson is a 1972 (BS and 1973 (MS) graduate of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in electrical engineering. He attended and graduated from Brooklyn Technical High School. He worked for Eastman Kodak since shortly after his graduation from engineering school. He is currently on the board of the George Eastman House in Rochester, NY.

After holding executive positions in new technologies marketing with Apple Computer throughout the 1980s, Alexis Gerard founded imaging think-tank Future Image Inc. in 1991. Future Image's continuous information services (The Future Image Report), research studies, and consulting services made it the leading independent source of expertise on the convergence of imaging, information and telecommunications technology for executives, entrepreneurs and investors worldwide, with particular emphasis on digital cameras, Internet imaging, and mobile imaging.